Jaeyou Park

Marketing Associate - 21 Nov, 2018

Trello Cards Archive vs Delete

Productive people love using Trello inside Shift. However, there are still a lot of people finding the different functions of Trello confusing. (Few of us at Shift included🤔)

In a similar vein to deleting and recovering a Trello board, the archive vs. delete debacle when it comes to Trello cards is confusing. What’s the difference?

Archiving and deleting are quite similar yet different. In short, the difference is that you can still access your archived cards at a later date; whereas deleting them, deletes them for good. Just like how the two functions work in your Gmail inbox.

Kind of the same… but not.

 

How to archive Trello cards

Like we mentioned, archiving your old cards means you’ll be able to bring them back at some point. It’s like filing it away for future references. Always a good thing when you archive the wrong card. (Not that we speak from experience…)

There are two simple ways to archive your Trello cards.

 

trello card archive from inside card

Inside of a card
1. Launch Shift and navigate to your Trello board
2. Open a card
3. Select “archive” from the side menu

 

how to archive trello card

From the board
1. Launch Shift and navigate to your Trello board
2. Hover over the card you want to archive
3. Click the menu (this is the little pencil icon that shows up)
4. Select “archive”

Note: To unarchive your cards, just navigate to the main board menu, hit “more,” and then click “archived items.” Once you find the card, hit “send to board.”

 

How to delete Trello cards

To delete a trello card, you have to be absolutely sure you no longer need the card. You’re 100% sure? Then complete the following steps:

how to delete trello cards

1. Open the card you want to delete
2. Click “share and more…”
3. Click “delete”
4. When prompted (and only if you’re 100% sure) hit the big red “DELETE” button.

Note: Alternatively, you can also delete cards that have been archived by going into your “archived items” list and then hit “delete.”